Healy receives Humboldt Research Award

Professor Kevin Healy has been elected the recipient of a Humboldt Research Award. This award is conferred in recognition of lifetime achievements in research by nomination from a peer. In addition, Healy is invited to carry out research projects of his choice in cooperation with specialist colleagues in Germany.

Yartsev named Sloan Research Fellow

Professor Michael Yartsev was named a 2017 Sloan Research Fellow. The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation selected 126 outstanding U.S.
and Canadian researchers as the recipients of the 2017 fellowships, honoring early-career scholars whose achievements mark them as the
next generation of scientific leaders.

Three faculty named Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigators

The Chan Zuckerberg Biohub has announced it’s inaugural class of 47 faculty investigators from UC Berkeley, UCSF and Stanford, including three Berkeley Bioengineers. Professors Dan Fletcher, Amy Herr and Aaron Streets are among the 13 Berkeley faculty who will receive up to $1.5 million each over the next five years to conduct cutting-edge biomedical research.

Two alums in 2017 30 Under 30!

Congratulations 2013 PhD Tim Downing and 2009 BS Tim Wang, both named to the 2017 Forbes 30 Under 30!
Downing, now a professor at UC Irvine, was recognized for his work examining how extracellular signals can influence the final fate of cells. Wang, now a PhD student at MIT, is the cofounder of KSQ Therapeutics, a drug company that uses his work with the gene-editing technology CRISPR to look for new drugs.

Liepmann lab student wins capstone award

Master of Engineering student Nicholas Engel won the Alumni Innovation Award at this year’s Fall Capstone Expo!

Herr named to National Academy of Inventors

Professor Amy Herr has been elected a 2016 Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. She joins only eleven other Berkeley faculty ever elected. Election to NAI Fellow status is the highest professional distinction accorded solely to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society. Congratulations!

Herr Lab invention named Top Innovation of 2016 by The Scientist

For the #1 spot in their annual Top 10 Innovations of the year, The Scientist magazine has chosen Milo, the commercial version of the single-cell Western blot technology invented in Professor Amy Herr’s lab. Originally developed for market by BioE PhD alumna Kelly Gardner for their startup Zephyrus Biosciences, acquired by BioTechne, Gardner now runs commercialization of the product for ProteinSimple.

$1.5mil 2016 NYSCF–Robertson Neuroscience Investigator award to Yartsev

This award from the New York Stem Cell Foundation provides Yartsev with support to study the neurobiological basis of language learning in the mammalian brain using an unusual model system: the bat.

Amy Herr on “2016 Power List” by Analytical Chemistry

Professor Amy Herr has been named to the 2016 power list of Top 50 most influential women in the analytical sciences by The Analytical Scientist. Herr was also named to the Top 100 Most Influential People in the Analytical Sciences in their 2015 Power List.

Yartsev named NIH New Innovator

Professor Michael Yartsev will receive a NIH New Innovator award, designed to stimulate highly innovative research and support promising new investigators. Yartsev was recognized for his research studying the “First Mammalian Model System for Studying Vocal Learning: A Behavioral and Neurophysiological Approach.”

Conboy and Lam receive grant for BioE curriculum enrichment

The Department of Bioengineering has been awarded a 2016-2017 Presidential Chair Fellows Curriculum Enrichment Grant to fund integrating research skills into the curriculum.

Two BioE alums named to TR35

Bioengineering alumni Kelly Gardner and Heather Bowerman have been named top innovators under 35, a list compiled each year by MIT Technology Review. Gardner, PhD 2013 in Amy Herr’s lab, was recognized for her lean biotech startup innovating in single-cell protein analysis. Bowerman, BS 2005, was honored for inexpensive hormone level tracking technology. They are two of the seven UC Berkeley-affiliated engineers named this year.

Kumar named BMES Fellow

Professor Sanjay Kumar has been elected to the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) Class of 2016 Fellows. Fellow status is awarded to members who demonstrate exceptional achievements and experience in the field of biomedical engineering, and a record of membership and participation in the Society.

Yartsev receives Klingenstein-Simons Fellowship

Professor Michael Yartsev has been named a Klingenstein-Simons Fellow in Neuroscience, a distinguished award delivered jointly by the Esther A. & Joseph Klingenstein Fund and the Simons Foundation. The fellowship supports, in the early stages of their careers, young investigators engaged in basic or clinical research that may lead to a better understanding of neurological and psychiatric disorders.

Yartsev named Pew Scholar

Assistant Professor Michael Yartsev has been named a 2016 Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences. This prestigious program provides funding to young investigators of outstanding promise in science relevant to the advancement of human health. The 2016 class of 22 Pew Biomedical Scholars is drawn from top institutions across the country, with each scholar receiving four years of flexible funding to pursue foundational, innovative research.